|
Library Home » Archives & Special Collections » HemisFair '68 Research Guide
HemisFair '68 History and Resources
History of HemisFair '68
When HemisFair '68 opened on April 6, 1968 it held the
honor of being the only "world's fair" that year to be sanctioned by the
Paris-based Bureau of International Expositions, and the first world's
fair ever to be held in Texas.
Vision

|
Photograph of painting by Warren Hunter of HemisFair site (Folder 333:11), San Antonio Fair, Inc., Records, 1962-1995, MS 31, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library. |
In 1958, a handful of San Antonio businessmen had a vision of a world's fair in San Antonio, Texas. Department store executive Jerome K. Harris proposed a fair to be held in 1968 to celebrate 250th anniversary of the founding of San Antonio and the shared cultural heritage of San Antonio and its Latin American neighbors. His idea gained the support of San Antonio Congressman Henry B. Gonzalez, and local businessmen William R. Sinkin, H. B. (Pat) Zachry, and James Gaines who soon began to cultivate support for "HemisFair '68." |
Organization


Letters, dated October 23, 1962 (top) and September 3, 1963 (bottom), showing transformation of planning committee's name and letterhead (Folder 5:7), San Antonio Fair, Inc., Records, 1962-1995, MS 31, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.
|
The organizing of the fair demanded years of planning, coordinated
investment, the support of all levels of city, state, and federal government,
and massive time and commitment from the persons involved. In December
of 1962, the San Antonio Fair, Inc. incorporated to formally begin planning,
lobbying, fundraising and designing HemisFair '68.
Before incorporating as San Antonio Fair, Inc., the planners worked as the "Fair of the Americas Planning Committee." The images to the left show the transformation of both the letterhead and the positions held by the planners (click for images of full letters). |
Theme
In keeping with Jerome K. Harris' original idea of celebrating
the shared cultural heritage of San Antonio and its neighbors, the theme
of HemisFair '68 was "The Confluence of Civilizations in the Americas." |
 |
Logo in four steps, UTSA Institute of Texan Cultures Records, 1965-2006, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library. |
Dates
The fair was open for six months from April 6, 1968 to October 6,
1968.
Finances

Image: "HemisFair Means Money for Texas," San Antonio Express and News, 6 February 1965 (Folder 340:8), San Antonio Fair, Inc., Records, 1962-1995, MS 31, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.
|
The fair was supported by:
- 450 San Antonio underwriters (local business firms and individuals)
- voter-approved San Antonio City bonds
- Urban Renewal Agency funds
- an appropriation of $4,500,000 by the Texas State Legislature
- two appropriations ($125,000 in 1965 and $6.75 million in 1966) by the
U.S. Congress
|
Participants
Many governments and corporations sponsored pavilions that contributed
to providing an educational and entertaining environment for visitors to
the fair.
|
Cultural pavilions were sponsored by the governments of 21 different countries:
|
Belgium
Bolivia
Canada
China
Costa Rica
El Salvador
France
West Germany
Guatemala
Honduras
Italy
|
Japan
Korea
Mexico
Nicaragua
Panama
Portugal
Spain
Switzerland
Thailand
United States of America
|
|
Industrial pavilions were sponsored by corporations such as:
|
Bell Systems
Coca-Cola
Eastman-Kodak
Falstaff Brewing
Ford Motor Co.
|
Frito-Lay/Pepsico
General Electric
General Motors
Humble Oil and Refining Co.
Pearl Brewing Co.
|
Attendance
Figures for attendance fell short of the initial predictions of
7.2 million persons, and were actually closer to 6.4 million people.
Contributing factors which may have influenced the lower than expected
attendance included the assassination of Martin Luther King two days before
HemisFair '68 opened; racial unrest and riots throughout the U.S. that
summer; the assassination in June 1968 of presidential candidate Robert
F. Kennedy; and political turmoil surrounding the war in Vietnam and the
Democratic National Convention.
Impact
HemisFair '68 literally changed the urban landscape of San Antonio
and lay the ground work for future economic and civic partnerships in the
City. The energy and resources that went into constructing and hosting
HemisFair '68 fueled dramatic urban renewal in the downtown area, development
along the River Walk, and expansion of the tourism industry in San Antonio.
More Resources
History compiled by Kathy McCabe and Jill Jackson of the UTSA Libraries Special Collections and Archives Department, 1998. Updated by Angela McClendon, Manuscripts Archivist, April 2008.
All images in this research guide are from the University of Texas at San Antonio Archives and the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC) Library. Reproduction of the images and/or text on this page without the explicit
permission of the UTSA Archives or ITC Library is
prohibited. If you wish to reproduce images from the UTSA Archives, please submit an Application for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (UTSA) to the UTSA Archives. If you wish to reproduce images from the ITC Library, please submit an Request for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (ITC) to the ITC Library.
|
Collections
Finding Aids
HemisFair '68
Archives for Research on Women and Gender
Mexican American Archives Project
University Archives
Special Collections
Using Collections
Reference Services
How to Use An Archive
Rules for Using Archives & Special Collections
Photocopy/Reproduction Fees
Forms
Contact Us
Contact Information
Library Hours
Library Locations
Archives & Special Collections Staff
Gifts and Donations
|
 |