UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Archives & Special Collections » HemisFair '68 Research Guide

HemisFair '68 History and Resources

San Antonio Fair, Inc. Records: Organization of the Collection

Clicking on each series title will take you to its finding aid, which includes a summary of materials in each series, as well as a detailed inventory of the materials in the collection. The homepage of the San Antonio Fair, Inc. Records finding aid, which includes a detailed chronology of HemisFair's planning, is available at http://www.lib.utexas.edu/taro/utsa/00050/utsa-00050p13.html


Series 1. Executive Officers

Papers of Executive Officers

  • H.B. "Pat" Zachry, Chairman of the Board, C.E.O.
  • William Sinkin, 1st President
  • Marshall Steves, 2nd President
  • John White, 1st Vice President
  • Ewen C. Dingwall, Executive Vice President, Washington Consultant
  • James M. Gaines, Executive Vice President, C.E.O.
  • Frank Manupelli, General Manager, Executive Vice President

General Administrative Papers

Minutes of Meetings

Anniversary Events

Oral History Interviews, 1979-1984 and undated


Series 2. Comptroller's Office

General Correspondence

Staff Correspondence

  • Jack Trawick, Comptroller
  • Gen. William A. Harris, Assistant Comptroller
  • Jim Battersby, Manager Advance Ticket Sales
  • William H. Stutts, Manager of Finance

Accounting

Administrative Services

Critical Path Method (CPM)

Internal Audit


Series 3. Legal Department

Alphabetical Subject Files

Staff Correspondence

  • John Daniels, General Counsel
  • Sam Wolf, Staff Attorney

Series 4. Entertainment Department

Management Correspondence

Contracts

Cultural Entertainment

On-Grounds Entertainment

Project Y Youth Pavilion


Series 5. Visitor and Exhibitor Relations Department

Jack Newman, Director

Guides and Hostesses

Industrial Exhibitors

International Relations

  • General Subject Files
  • Carlos Freymann, Director
  • Donovan Slade, Administrative Deputy Director
  • Bessie Galbraith, Mexican Coordinator

Protocol Office

Sales

Special Events

Visitor Relations

  • Staff Correspondence
    • Harold Robbins, Director of Visitor Relations
    • Dick Miller, Director of Exhibits
    • Henry Guerra, Exhibits Coordinator
    • Jack Reiss, Director of Marketing
    • Lawton "Buzz" Butler, Exhibit Account Executive
  • Requests for Information
  • School Visits
  • Woman's Pavilion

Series 6. Site Development Department

Design and Architecture

  • Architectural Drawings
  • Staff Correspondence
  • Alphabetical Subject Files

Design and Theme Development


Series 7. Public Relations Department

Irv Weinman, Director of Public Relations

Hugh Lowe, Manager Advertising and Promotion

Leo Yetman, Director of Publicity

John Fischer, Chief Tie-in Advertising and Promotion

Press Branch, Ed Castillo, Director

  • Biographical Sketches of HemisFair Executives and Staff Members
  • Castillo Office Files
  • Speakers Bureau
  • Hector Ponsdomenech, Spanish Administrator
  • News Releases

Press Accreditation Branch

Magazine Branch, Hub Mason, Chief

Radio and Television Branch, Carey Deckard, Chief

Pictorial Services Branch, Bob Collins, Manager

  • Contact Sheets
  • Photographs
    • Personalities
    • Special Events
    • Buildings and Structures
    • Fair Scenes
    • Unnumbered Photos
  • Additional 3x5 photographs, slides, transparencies, negatives, and contact sheets

InfoPlan International Public Relations

Advance Ticket Sales and Promotion, Linda Bailey, Manager

Press Kits

Information on Other Fairs

  • Chicago 1933 A Century of Progress Exposition
  • Seattle Century 21 Exposition, 1962
  • New York World's Fair, 1964-1965
  • Expo '67 Montreal, Quebec
  • Miscellaneous Fairs Pre-1968
  • Miscellaneous Proposed Fairs Scheduled After 1968

Series 8. Printed Materials, Scrapbooks, and Other Volumes

Rules and Regulations, Manuals, Handbooks, Other Materials

Reports and Studies

Brochures and Booklets

Newspapers

Scrapbooks and Publicity Books


Series 9. Trinity University Library Administrative Files


Series 10. Ephemera


Series 11. Oversize Architectural Drawings, Blueprints, and Plans


Series 12. Audiovisual Materials


Menu

Index

History

Resources

More...

All images in this research guide are from the University of Texas at San Antonio Archives and the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC) Library. Reproduction of the images and/or text on this page without the explicit permission of the UTSA Archives or ITC Library is prohibited. If you wish to reproduce images from the UTSA Archives, please submit an Application for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (UTSA) to the UTSA Archives. If you wish to reproduce images from the ITC Library, please submit an Request for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (ITC) to the ITC Library.

About Archives & Special Collections

Contact Information

Hours and Locations

Gifts and Donations

Reading Room and Manuscript Use Policies


Resources

Holdings

Find Collections

Local Repositories


Services

Reference Services

Photocopy and Reproduction Services

Using Archives: A Guide for Researchers

Forms

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home
  • Trinity University Library Administrative Files
  • Ephemera
  • Oversized Architectural Drawings, Blueprints and Plans
  • Audiovisual Materials