UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Archives & Special Collections » HemisFair '68 Research Guide

HemisFair '68 History and Resources

Postcards from HemisFair '68

All postcards on this page are available in Folder 504:5, San Antonio Fair, Inc., Records, 1962-1995, MS 31, Archives and Special Collections, University of Texas at San Antonio Library. The captions are descriptions that have been transcribed from the backs of the postcards.

Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: Tower of the Americas
Tower of the Americas

"HemisFair's 622-foot theme structure. Rendering shows the proximity of the 1968 Texas World's Fair to downtown San Antonio. "
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: Carlos Merida Mural
Carlos Merida Mural

"Abstract, impelling symbolism of Carlos Merida mural in San Antonio Convention Center captures the spirit of the HemisFair '68 theme: Confluence of Civilizations in the Americas."
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: Mini-Monorail
Mini-Monorail

"Mini-Monorail is one of the chief transportation means on the HemisFair '68 site. It is quick, colorful and provides a breathtaking view of the exposition's entire 92 acres. Here it passes by the Plaza of Flags representing the twenty-six ethnic groups which have contributed to the greatness of the Americas."
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: Institute of Texan Cultures
Institute of Texan Cultures

"In a main display area the size of four football fields, visitors to the Texas State Pavilion will view an exciting dramatization of the cultural history and future of this incredibly diverse state."
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: United States Confluence Theater
United States Confluence Theater

"United States Confluence Theater, part of the two-building Federal Exhibit at HemisFair '68, is a 70-foot high structure which houses a one-of-a-kind theater and the largest curvilinear motion picture screen in the world. In it, fairgoers will see the Francis Thompson film, Confluence, U.S.A."
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: United States Exhibit Pavilion
U.S. Exhibit Pavilion

"The United States Exhibit Pavilion is one of the two buildings which comprise the U.S. Exhibit at HemisFair '68. In this modern structure, fairgoers are introduced to the exhibit theme, 'Confluence, U.S.A.'"
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: Les Poupees de Paris in the Lido Theater Les Poupées de Paris

"Les Poupées de Paris in the Lido Theater at HemisFair '68. A marionette show for adults only with much of the flavor of the famed Folies Bergère in Paris. Created by Sid and Marty Krofft, this show features over 200 wooden wonders."
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: Humble Pavilion
Humble Pavilion

"The old Schultze Store, restored to its Victorian charm, has become the Humble Pavilion. Within, at the Touring Center, fairgoers can find answers to all travel questions."
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: The Woman's Pavilion
The Woman's Pavilion

"Women from throughout the Americas will join hands with industry in the Woman's Pavilion for HemisFair 1968. The pavilion will invite every visitor to participate in celebrating Woman, her accomplishments and her contributions."
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: El Encanto de un Pueblo
El Encanto de un Pueblo

"'The Magic of a People,' one of HemisFair's theme exhibits, has received international acclaim for its display of the Alexander Girard Foundation collection of folk art. The 10,000 pieces show, in the words of Girard, the Latin American habit of producing beauty even in the most insignificant things of everyday life."
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: Lone Star Brewing Company Pavilion with Water Ski Show passing in front
Lone Star Brewing Company Pavilion

"The girls of the Mercury Outboard Water Ski Show pass in front of the Lone Star's lakeside Hall of Texas History. The pavilion features realistic life-size dioramas of scenes from Texas' rich history."
Thumbnail image of Hemisfair postcard: Calypso ride
Calypso

"Calypso, one of nearly 20 fantastic rides that dot the landscape of Fiesta Island and the areas about the Tower of the Americas. Many of these are imported; many to be shown here for the first time."

Menu

Index

History

Resources

More...

All images in this research guide are from the University of Texas at San Antonio Archives and the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC) Library. Reproduction of the images and/or text on this page without the explicit permission of the UTSA Archives or ITC Library is prohibited. If you wish to reproduce images from the UTSA Archives, please submit an Application for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (UTSA) to the UTSA Archives. If you wish to reproduce images from the ITC Library, please submit an Request for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (ITC) to the ITC Library.

About Archives & Special Collections

What We Collect

Contact Information

Hours and Locations

Donating and Gifts

The Top Shelf Blog


Resources

Find Collections

University Archives

Special Collections

HemisFair '68 Exhibit

Local Repositories


Services

Reference Services

Photocopy and Reproduction Services

Forms

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home