UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Archives & Special Collections » HemisFair '68 Research Guide

HemisFair '68 History and Resources

Resources

Archival Collections (General)

The following collections are available at the UTSA Archives at the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC), except for the Vertical File, which is available at the Institute of Texan Cultures Library. Processed collections are linked to their finding aids when available.

San Antonio Fair, Inc. (HemisFair) Records, 1962-1995 (bulk 1964-1968) (MS 31)

Thumbnail image of Minutes of Initial Meeting of Interested Citizens Pertinent to the Fair of the Americas

[Image: Minutes of Initial Meeting of Interested Citizens Pertinent to the 'Fair of the America's,'" February 15, 1962 (page 1), Folder 5:7, San Antonio Fair, Inc., Records, 1962-1995, MS 31, Archives and Special Collections, University of Texas at San Antonio Library.]

The records of the San Antonio Fair, Inc., document the planning, lobbying, financing and construction of HemisFair '68. The records consist of correspondence, meeting minutes, committee reports, financial records, newspaper and magazine articles, press releases, photographic materials, blueprints, maps and plats, artwork, oral history interview transcripts, scrapbooks of clippings and ephemera, and audiovisual materials (film and sound recordings). Most of the records predate the opening of the fair.


William and Fay Sinkin Papers, 1928-1998 (MS 64)

William Sinkin was the first President of San Antonio Fair, Inc., serving as president from 1963-1964 and as Honorary Co-Chairman of the Board from 1964-1968. The Community subseries of the collection documents Sinkin's leadership roles in HemisFair. Several newsclipping scrapbooks chronicle HemisFair and portray the extent and type of media coverage that the Fair attracted from preliminary planning in 1962 through its 20th anniversary in 1988. (More Sinkin material is available in the Executive Officers Series of the San Antonio Fair, Inc. Records.)

[Image: Page with Reuse Plan map from HemisFair Scrapbook, 1964 (Box 16), William and Fay Sinkin Papers, 1928-1998, MS 64, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.]

Thumbnail image of newspaper page with Reuse Plan Map from 1964 HemisFair Scrapbook


UTSA's ITC Library Collection of HemisFair '68 Materials, 1965-1994 (MS 292)

Thumbnail image of document, Statement by H.B. Zachry for Second State Appropriation for HemisFair

[Image: Statement by H.B. Zachry for Second State Appropriation for HemisFair (Folder 2:7), UTSA's Institute of Texan Cultures Library Collection of HemisFair '68 Materials, 1965-1994, MS 292, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.]

The Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC), a museum and campus of the University of Texas at San Antonio, was established in 1965 by the 59th Texas Legislature. Originally housing the Texas Pavilion at HemisFair '68, it was designed to study the ethnic groups that settled in Texas. The ITC Library was established in 1965 as a repository for books and images of artifacts being collected by researchers preparing exhibits for the Texas Pavilion. This collection spans the years 1965 through 1994 and includes materials relating to HemisFair '68 that were collected by the ITC Library. Materials include photographs, transparencies, printed materials, newspaper clippings, souvenir items, essays, and other materials.


Zoe Wright Scrapbook of HemisFair Materials, 1967-1968 (MS 273)

Natalie (Zoe) Wright served on the Board of Directors of the Woman's Pavilion at HemisFair 1968. This collection is comprised of one scrapbook, compiled by Zoe Wright. The scrapbook spans the years 1967 through 1968 and includes materials documenting HemisFair 1968, with a particular focus on materials generated by and relating to the Woman's Pavilion.

[Image: Zoe Wright pointing to her handprint on the Woman's Pavilion, Zoe Wright Scrapbook of HemisFair Materials, 1967-1968, MS 273, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.]

Thumbnail image of Zoe Wright pointing to her handprint on the Woman's Pavilion at HemisFair


Vivian Johnson Hamlin Terrett Papers, 1966-1990 (MS 100)

Thumbnail image of Vivian Terrett's Woman's Pavilion informational packet with handwritten James Thurber quote: Women are wiser than men - because they know less and understand more.

Vivian Johnson Hamlin Terrett spent most of her adult life as a resident of San Antonio, Texas, where she was an active member of civic and cultural organizations. She received numerous citations for her work. Printed material, correspondence, reports, photographs, scrapbook material, and artifacts, 1966-1990, document Vivian Johnson Hamlin Terrett's work in civic and cultural organizations in San Antonio, Texas, notably the Woman's Pavilion at HemisFair '68 and the San Antonio Bicentennial Commission. There are also personal items in the collection.

[Image: Woman's Pavilion informational packet with handwritten quote, undated (Folder 1:15), Vivian Johnson Hamlin Terrett Papers, 1966-1990, MS 100, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.]


Alamo Heights Junior School Student Flag Collection, 1968 (MS 134)

The collection consists of 43 flags (8.5 in x 11.5 in) made by students from Alamo Heights Junior School in the late 1960s. The small flags are recreations of flags that have flown in Texas over the course of Texas history. The flags were originally displayed in the students' classroom, but were donated to be shown during HemisFair '68.

[Image: The Flag of the Galveston Invincibles (1842), Alamo Heights Junior School Student Flag Collection, 1968, MS 134, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.]

Thumbnail image of handmade flag of the Galveston Invincibles


HemisFair Memorabilia Collection, 1960s (MS 127)

Image of Hemisfair license plate

[Image: HemisFair license plate, HemisFair Memorabilia Collection, 1960s, MS 127, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.]

The UTSA Archives also holds a collection of HemisFair '68 memorabilia, donated by various members of the community. Items include souvenir books and maps, license plates, salt and pepper shakers, posters, ashtrays, plates, glasses, coffee mugs, and a Tower of the Americas decanter, among other items. The collection is unprocessed, but can be accessed by appointment.


ITC Library Vertical File

The ITC Library has 250 linear feet of vertical files. An in-house vertical file index database is available to researchers. The vertical files include one HemisFair folder containing newspaper clippings, photocopies of magazine articles, and HemisFair maps and photographs.


Archival Collections

General Archival Collections

Photograph Collections

Oral History Interviews

Books and Theses

Audiovisual Materials


Menu

Index

History

Resources

More...

All images in this research guide are from the University of Texas at San Antonio Archives and the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC) Library. Reproduction of the images and/or text on this page without the explicit permission of the UTSA Archives or ITC Library is prohibited. If you wish to reproduce images from the UTSA Archives, please submit an Application for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (UTSA) to the UTSA Archives. If you wish to reproduce images from the ITC Library, please submit an Request for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (ITC) to the ITC Library.

About Archives & Special Collections

What We Collect

Contact Information

Hours and Locations

Donating and Gifts

The Top Shelf Blog


Resources

Find Collections

University Archives

Special Collections

HemisFair '68 Exhibit

Local Repositories


Services

Reference Services

Photocopy and Reproduction Services

Forms

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home