|
Library Home » Archives & Special Collections » HemisFair '68 Research Guide
HemisFair '68 History and Resources
Resources
Oral History Interviews
ITC Library's Oral History Collection, begun in the 1970s, serves as a repository of oral histories with individuals throughout Texas. Interview topics range widely but tend to be on themes relating to local and regional history, important individuals and events, and Texas traditional lifeways. The ITC Library holds 26 oral history interviews, conducted from 1976 to 2003, with significant Texans and HemisFair participants. In these interviews, interviewees talk about the stories of HemisFair and its impact on San Antonio. Seventeen of the interviews were conducted by the members of the Oral History Program. The remaining nine were conducted by oral historian and jazz preservationist Sterlin Holmesly in the process of researching Hemisfair '68 and the Transformation of San Antonio (copies are available at JPL, Downtown Library, Special Collections, ITC Library, UTSA Archives). Holmesly's other oral histories are also housed at the ITC Library.
Transcripts of many of the oral history interviews housed at the ITC Library are also available at the UTSA Archives. These interviews were conducted from 1979-1984 by the Bexar County Historical Commission, and are available in the San Antonio Fair, Inc. Records: Series 1: Executive Officers.
At the ITC Library
26 interviews. Listed alphabetically.
Interview with O.T. Baker, May 18, 1976
Interviewer: Betty Orth
Transcript: 69 leaves.
Subjects of interview:
- Texas Folklife Festival.
- Folk festivals.
- Hemisfair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
Supplemental material: Clippings about O. T. Baker and the Texas Folklife Festival.
|
Interview with Tom Berg, December 4, 1997
Interviewer: Sterlin Holmesly
Transcript: 23 leaves.
Subjects of interview:
- San Antonio (Tex.)--History
- San Antonio (Tex.)
- San Antonio (Tex.)--Economic conditions.
- Hemisfair (1968 : San Antonio, Texas)
- San Antonio (Tex.)--City Public Service.
- South Texas Nuclear Project.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Charles Cheever, June 1, 1994
Interviewer: Sterlin Holmesly
Transcript: 36 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- Hemisfair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Medical facilities--Texas--San Antonio.
- San Antonio (Tex.)--Politics and government.
- San Antonio (Tex.)--Economic conditions.
- Water supply--San Antonio (Tex.)
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Sue Flanagan, August 30, 1984
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 62 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- University of Texas at San Antonio. Institute of Texan Cultures--History.
- HemisFair 1968 (San Antonio, Tex.)
- Shuffler, Ralph Henderson, 1908-1975.
- Connally, John Bowden, 1917-
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Carlos Freymann, December 3, 1979 (revised January 11, 1993)
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 35 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Dingwall, Ewen C.
- Steves, Marshall Terrell.
- Sinkin, William.
- Connally, John Bowden, 1917-
- Frost, Tom, Jr.
Supplemental material: Photocopy of photograph.
|
Interview with Henry A. Guerra, Jr., July 25, 1984 and September 19, 1990
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 55 leaves and 19 leaves.
Subjects of interview:
- Guerra, Elvira Pizzini.
- Grocery trade--Texas--San Antonio.
- Broggi grocery store (San Antonio, Tex.)
- Pizzini family.
- Pizzini store (San Antonio, Tex.)
- Missions--Texas--San Antonio.
- Produce Row (San Antonio, Tex.)
- Radio stations.
- Television stations.
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
Supplemental material: Newspaper clippings.
|
Interview with Jerome K. Harris, January 26, 1979
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan.
Transcript: 27 leaves.
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- McAllister, Walter Williams, 1889-
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Maj. Gen. William A. Harris, January 22, 1980
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 13 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Mrs. Fred Irby, October 25, 1979
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 21 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.) Woman's Pavilion.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Walter W. McAllister, July 22, 1979
Interviewer: Clyde W. Ellis
Transcript: 29 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- San Antonio (Tex.)
- City Council.
- San Antonio (Tex.)--Politics and government.
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- McAllister Expressway (San Antonio, Tex.)
- McAllister family.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Red McCombs, May 27, 1994
Interviewer: Sterlin Holmesly
Transcript: 37 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Connally, John Bowden, 1917-
- Businessmen--Texas.
- San Antonio Spurs (Basketball team).
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with B.J. "Red" McCombs, May 27, 1997
Interviewer: Sterlin Holmesly
Transcript: 22 leaves.
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Businessmen--Texas.
- Connally, John Bowden, 1917-
- University of Texas at San Antonio. Institute of Texan Cultures.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with James Patrick McGuire, March 20, 1985
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 40 leaves.
Subjects of interview:
- University of Texas at San Antonio. Institute of Texan Cultures--History.
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Jack Newman, September 12, 1979
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 33 leaves.
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Jesse H. Oppenheimer, April 7, 1998
Interviewer: Sterlin Holmesly
Transcript: 17 leaves.
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Express Publishing Company.
- San Antonio (Tex.)--Politics and government.
- Medical facilities--Texas--San Antonio.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Joe Perry, June 5, 1984
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 65 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- University of Texas at San Antonio. Institute of Texan Cultures--History.
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Shuffler, Ralph Henderson, 1908-1975.
- Connally, John Bowden, 1917-
- Texas Folklife Festival.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Bob Polunsky, October 28, 1998
Interviewer: Laurie Gudzikowski
Transcript: 27 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- San Antonio (Tex.)
- San Antonio (Tex.)--Economic conditions.
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Boone Powell, January 27, 2003
Interviewer: Sterlin Holmesly
Transcript: 35 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- San Antonio (Tex.)
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Holmesly Collection.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with William Sinkin, April 3, 1980
Interviewer: Sheryl Smith
Transcript: 18 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with William Sinkin, June 30, 1995
Interviewer: Sterlin Holmesly
Transcript: 42 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Gonzalez, Henry B. (Henry Barbosa), 1916-
- San Antonio (Tex.)--Politics and government.
- San Antonio (Tex.)--Economic conditions.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Marshall Steves, February 1, 1980
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 35 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Jack Trawick, October 22, 1979
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 27 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Zachry, Henry Bartell, 1901-1984.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Selma Weiner, October 16, 1986
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 30 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- University of Texas at San Antonio. Institute of Texan Cultures.
- Volunteer program--Institute of Texan Cultures.
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Texas Folklife Festival.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Robert Winn, January 31, 1979 (part 2)
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 14 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Girard, Alexander.
- Folk art--Latin America--Exhibitions.
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with H. B. Zachry, March 20, 1980
Interviewer: Esther MacMillan
Transcript: 19 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Hilton Palacio del Rio (San Antonio, Tex.)
Supplemental material: No.
|
Interview with Bartell Zachry, May 5, 1994
Interviewer: Sterlin Holmesly
Transcript: 32 leaves
Subjects of interview:
- HemisFair (1968 : San Antonio, Tex.)
- Hilton Palacio del Rio (San Antonio, Tex.)
- Zachry, Henry Bartell, 1901-1984.
- Hotels, taverns, etc.--Texas.
- Medical facilities--Texas--San Antonio.
- San Antonio (Tex.)--Economic conditions.
Supplemental material: No.
|
At the UTSA Archives
Interviews in the San Antonio Fair, Inc. Records
11 interviews. Listed chronologically.
Transcripts of many of the oral history interviews listed above are also available at the UTSA Archives. These interviews were conducted from 1979-1984 by the Bexar County Historical Commission, and are available in the San Antonio Fair, Inc. Records: Series 1: Executive Officers.
- Jerome K. Harris, January 16, 1979
- Jack Newman, September 12, 1979
- Jack Trawick and General William A. Harris, October 22, 1979
- Mrs. Fred Irby, October 25, 1979
- Major General William A. Harris, January 22, 1980
- Marshall Steves, February 1, 1980
- H. B. (Pat) Zachry, March 20, 1980
- William Sinkin, April 3, 1980
- Joe Perry, June 5, 1984
- Sue Flanagan, August 30, 1984
- Robert K. Winn, undated
|
Archival Collections
General Archival Collections
Photograph Collections
Oral History Interviews
Books and Theses
Audiovisual Materials
All images in this research guide are from the University of Texas at San Antonio Archives and the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC) Library. Reproduction of the images and/or text on this page without the explicit
permission of the UTSA Archives or ITC Library is
prohibited. If you wish to reproduce images from the UTSA Archives, please submit an Application for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (UTSA) to the UTSA Archives. If you wish to reproduce images from the ITC Library, please submit an Request for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (ITC) to the ITC Library.
|
About Archives & Special Collections
Contact Information
Hours and Locations
Gifts and Donations
Reading Room and Manuscript Use Policies
Resources
Holdings
Find Collections
Local Repositories
Services
Reference Services
Photocopy and Reproduction Services
Using Archives: A Guide for Researchers
Forms
|
 |