UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Archives & Special Collections » HemisFair '68 Research Guide

HemisFair '68 History and Resources

Resources

Photograph Collections

The ITC Library's Historical Photograph Collection consists of six sub-collections, all containing HemisFair photographs. Listed below is each sub-collection, with a description of the type of HemisFair photographs each contains. Search for individual photographs by keyword, subject heading, photographer, or date with the ITC Library's Photo Archive Catalog.

Reproductions (prints or scans) of photographs at the ITC Library are available for purchase. More information is available at the ITC's Photograph Sales web page.

General Collection

Thumbnail image of amusement rides at HemisFair

Format: 35mm slides

The General Collection includes images taken by visitors to the fair. The image to the left depicts the amusement rides surrounding the base of the Tower of the Americas.

Image number: 107-0907b


Zintgraff Collection

Thumbnail image of Tower of the Americas during HemisFair '68

Format: Negatives and prints

Includes pictures of:

  • HemisFair construction
  • Copies of models and architectural renderings of various pavilions
  • Views of individual pavilions
  • Opening Day ceremonies
  • Celebrities who visited the fair

Image number: Z-1091-1403


San Antonio Light Collection

Thumbnail image from San Antonio Light photo collection

Format: Negatives

  • Views of construction and the fair after opening

San Antonio Express-News Collection

Thumbnail image from San Antonio Express-News photo collection

Format: Negatives

  • Views of construction and the fair on opening day and later
  • Special days at HemisFair

Harvey Belgin Collection

Thumbnail image from Harvey Belgin photo collection

Format: Negatives

  • Views of construction and the fair after opening

Howell Collection

Thumbnail image from Howell photo collection

Format: Negatives and prints

  • HemisFair neighborhood prior to demolition
  • Views of demolition and initial HemisFair construction

Archival Collections

General Archival Collections

Photograph Collections

Oral History Interviews

Books and Theses

Audiovisual Materials


Menu

Index

History

Resources

More...

All images in this research guide are from the University of Texas at San Antonio Archives and the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC) Library. Reproduction of the images and/or text on this page without the explicit permission of the UTSA Archives or ITC Library is prohibited. If you wish to reproduce images from the UTSA Archives, please submit an Application for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (UTSA) to the UTSA Archives. If you wish to reproduce images from the ITC Library, please submit an Request for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (ITC) to the ITC Library.

About Archives & Special Collections

What We Collect

Contact Information

Hours and Locations

Donating and Gifts

The Top Shelf Blog


Resources

Find Collections

University Archives

Special Collections

HemisFair '68 Exhibit

Local Repositories


Services

Reference Services

Photocopy and Reproduction Services

Forms

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home