UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Archives & Special Collections » HemisFair '68 Research Guide

HemisFair '68 History and Resources

The Theme Structure: The Tower of the Americas

Thumbnail image of Dissection of the Tower

The Tower of the Americas is one of the lasting structures from HemisFair '68. The Tower (including the antenna) rises 750 feet above HemisFair Park and houses an observation deck and revolving restaurant which offer a panoramic view of the San Antonio and the surrounding areas.


Image: Dissection of the Tower, 1966 (Folder 2:7), UTSA's Institute of Texan Cultures Library Collection of HemisFair '68 Materials, 1965-1994, MS 292, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.

Though today the tower is a fixture of the San Antonio skyline, it was the source of much controversy before it was built. In 1966, questions arose about the propriety of the bidding process for the tower construction job. When the first round of bidding elicited only one bid Congressman Henry B. Gonzalez felt strongly that the job be put out for re-bid and until that action was taken he did not actively support an additional Federal appropriation for HemisFair '68. Though no improper conduct was uncovered and all persons involved denied charges of conflict of interest, public pressure and negative publicity surrounding the initial bidding process forced the Executive Committee of HemisFair '68 to put the tower project out for re-bid late in the summer of 1966. With the previously accepted bid by contractor Dan Rheiner withdrawn, the Executive Committee was forced to accept the new lowest bid, which was $336,000 higher than the original bid. However, this price was seen as the necessary price to appease the public and to gain the Federal appropriation of nearly $7 million.


An Alternate Version

Thumbnail image of Tower concept drawing from 1965
The Tower of the Americas, as envisioned in 1965.

Tower concept drawing, 1965 (Folder 433:18), San Antonio Fair, Inc., Records, 1962-1995, MS 31, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.

Name the Tower Contest

Perhaps in part to overcome the scrutiny the tower project received in 1966, the HemisFair Executive Committee sponsored a Name the Tower contest which attracted hundreds of entries. The names suggested ranged from tributes to jokes. Some of the names that were not chosen included:

  • Cloudlift
  • Gemini 5 Tower
  • HemiSpire
  • Purple Peeple Steeple
  • The Mast of Columbus
  • Tall Texan Tower
  • Aerothedral
  • JFK Tower
  • Hi Ya Tower
  • Sky Shack
  • San Antonio's Spacienda
  • Safari Shaft
  • Wineglass of Friendship
  • The Spur
  • Golden Swirl
  • Tower of Magnificence & Inspirational Achievements & Developments of HemisWest

Source (text and images): Tower Naming Contest, 1965 (Folder 362:1), San Antonio Fair, Inc., Records, 1962-1995, MS 31, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.

Thumbnail image of newspaper clipping: Name the Tower contest rules

Contest announcement in San Antonio Express-News, August 8, 1965


Thumbnail image of letter from contest judge with judging criteria

Letter from contest judge with judging criteria, October 21, 1965


The Tower of the Americas Under Construction

Note: film footage of the Tower construction is available in the Audiovisual Materials series of the San Antonio Fair, Inc. Records (MS 31).

These four photographs of the various stages of the Tower's construction are from Folder 432:6, San Antonio Fair, Inc., Records, 1962-1995, MS 31, Archives and Special Collections, UTSA Library.

Thumbnail image of Tower of the Americas under construction: phase 1

Thumbnail image of Tower of the Americas under construction: phase 2

Thumbnail image of Tower of the Americas under construction: phase 3

Thumbnail image of Tower of the Americas under construction: phase 4


In HemisFair Park

Thumbnail image of Tower during HemisFair, with sky ride visible Thumbnail image of Tower surrounded by amusement rides during HemisFair

During HemisFair the Tower was surrounded by a monorail, a sky-ride, water park and other amusements. Today, paths and a new water park skirt the base of the Tower and the expanding convention center lies just to the north.

Images: Tower during HemisFair. Both images from UTSA's Institute of Texan Cultures. Left: Z-1091-1403, Zintgraff Collection. Right: 107-0907b, General Collection.


Menu

Index

History

Resources

More...

All images in this research guide are from the University of Texas at San Antonio Archives and the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC) Library. Reproduction of the images and/or text on this page without the explicit permission of the UTSA Archives or ITC Library is prohibited. If you wish to reproduce images from the UTSA Archives, please submit an Application for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (UTSA) to the UTSA Archives. If you wish to reproduce images from the ITC Library, please submit an Request for Permission to Publish or Use Reproductions of Materials (ITC) to the ITC Library.

About Archives & Special Collections

What We Collect

Contact Information

Hours and Locations

Donating and Gifts

The Top Shelf Blog


Resources

Find Collections

University Archives

Special Collections

HemisFair '68 Exhibit

Local Repositories


Services

Reference Services

Photocopy and Reproduction Services

Forms

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home