UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

Business and Company Resource Center via GaleNet

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
Brings together a wide variety of company and industry business information, including company profiles and histories, current and historical stock prices, market share data, industry overviews, brand information, rankings, investment reports including Reuters Research on Demand and Zacks Investment Research Inc., chronologies, and periodical and news articles.Information can be accessed by a variety of search keys including company name/ticker, industry code/description, geographic area, subject, personal name, and journal title.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

Full Text of articles available online?
Yes. Over 2190 full text journal articles are included.

Language of articles?
English

What is the date coverage of citations?
Content is from 1980 to the present. Updated frequently.

List of publications included in this database?
Yes. Near the top of the page click on the link to "List of Sources".

Searching

Basic search terms?
and (all terms must be present)
or (at least one of the terms must be present)
not (combines term that must be present with term that must not be present)

How do I search for a name?
You can only search by author name in the "News/Magazines" section of the database. Use the pull down menu next to the search box and highlight "author".
To search for company names, click on the icon for "Company" and fill in the companies name on the search page.

What major fields are available for searching?
Major fields vary depending on what part of the database you are searching. You can search by Company, Industry, or for Articles. It is also possible to do an advanced search. Use the pulldown menus, if present, to see what search fields are available in each section.

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
No.

How do I limit by Date?
In the advanced search screen or the articles search screen you can fill in the blanks next to "Limit by date of publication".

Truncation?
Use * to retrieve various ending forms of a word  (exp: politic* = politic, politics, political, politician...)
Use ?to replace exactly one character within a word to retrieve various forms of that word. For example, the term wom?n retrieves documents that contain either woman or women.
Use ! for one or no characters. For example, catalo!! matches catalog, catalogs, but not catalogues.

Can I further limit my search?
Yes. Each section of the databases has its own special limiters. Additionally, the advanced search screen displays many limiting features.

Can I review my past searches?
Yes. There is button near the top of the page that allows you to view your "search history".

Display

Special Features?
Get company histories, industry information, market share, and articles all in one database.

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
After displaying the document use the print icon near on the top left hand side of the screen.

Can I download or save marked lists?
No. You can e-mail or print items in a marked list, but not save the entire list. You can save individual documents by using the computers File Menu, selecting save as, and typing in A:\filename.

Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes.  After displaying an article or displaying a marked list, click the "Email" button near the top of the page.

Help

Where do I go for more help?
Click on the "Help" or "Search Tips" links near the top of the screen. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210)458-4573.

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: Mergent Online, Business & Industry, Business Source Complete.

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home