UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

Business & Industry via RDS

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
Focuses on facts, figures, key events, market information and intellectual property information about companies, industries, and products. Draws content from approximately 1,000 US and international trade journals, business dailies, regional, national and international newspapers, and newsletters.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

Full Text of articles available online?
Content is from 1994 to the present with more than 65% of the entries available in full text.

Language of articles?
English

What is the date coverage of citations?
Articles cited in the database are from 1995 and are updated daily.

List of publications included in this database?
Yes. Near the bottom of the page it will say "From a specific source." Click on the "lookup" button for a list of items.

Searching

Basic search terms?
and (all terms must be present)
or (at least one of the terms must be present)
not (combines term that must be present with term that must not be present)
near# (the words specified must be near each other in within the number of words you specify in the record for example: George near2 Bush)

How do I search for a name?
You cannot search by an author field.
Fill in the blank next to "Company" to search by company names.

What major fields are available for searching?
"Words & Phrases " (the full text, abstract, title and select descriptor fields)
"Words in Title" (words in article titles)
"Company" (Company Names)
Additional fields are listed on the main search screen.

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
No, but it is possible to search by "Concept Term" or "Marketing Term" by using the pulldown menus on the main search page.

How do I limit by Date?
Fill in the boxes next to "Dated From ".

Truncation?
Use * to retrieve various ending forms of a word  (exp: politic* = politic, politics, political, politician...)

Can I further limit my search?
Yes. You will find more limiting options on the main search page. Examples of available limiters are: Document Type, SIC Code, Industry, and GeoRegion.

Can I review my past searches?
No.

Display

Special Features?
You can multiselect a variety of search methods from the main search page.

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
Click the Print button on the browser's tool bar, or,
Click Print on the File menu.
Click the browser's Back button twice to return to your Results List.

Can I download or save marked lists?
Yes. Click on the "Display Marked Articles" button to display citations. You may print, e-mail, or save marked items. To save: Click Save As on the browser's File menu. Type A:\ and the name of the file (A:\myfile) in the FileName box in the popup window. Be sure to select the appropriate File Type (either HTML or TXT). Click the browser's Back button twice to return to your Results List.

Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes.  After displaying an article or displaying a marked list, click the "Send Email" button near the top of the page.

Help

Where do I go for more help?
Click on the "Help" button near the top of the screen. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210)458-4573.

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: Mergent Online, TableBase, Business Source Complete.

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home