UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

CCH Internet Tax Research Network

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
CCH Internet Tax Research Network provides searchable, full-text coverage to numerous federal and state tax reporters, explanation and analysis, tax news, and primary source information from sources such as the Internal Revenue Code, Federal Tax Regulations, federal tax codes, tax court cases, and IRS Letter Rulings.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

Full Text of articles available online?
Yes.

Language of articles/documents?
English.

What is the date coverage of citations?
The coverage of the Federal Tax Archives are available 1978-present and the State Tax Archives are available from 1994-present.

Where do I find out what my legal citation stands for?
Use Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Citations (Reference Desk, KF 246 .P73 1997) to find out what your legal citation (abbreviation) is.

List of publications included in this database?
Tax New Direct, Federal Tax Service, Standard Federal Income Tax Reporter, Federal Estate and Gift Tax Reporter, Federal Excise Tax Reporter, Tax Treaties Reporter, IRS Publications, U.S. Master Tax Guide, US Tax Cases, Tax Court Memorandum Decisions, State Tax Reporters, State Tax Guide, Multistate Sales Tax, and Multistate Corporate Income Tax Guide.  For a list of printed publications on taxation that the UTSA Library owns, see CCHPub.

Searching

Using the Button Bar
buttonbuttonbuttonbutton

Main Menu – Returns you to the tabs view where you made your most recent selections.
Citator – Lets you track the history of cases and rulings through the legal process.
Keep List – Lets you see your own customized list of important documents you found in your research.
Path – Path allows you to go back to previously viewed documents just by clicking on the underlined title.
Clear Selections – Deselects all the items you have selected and returns you to the top menu level of the library. 
Citation Search – You can use the Citation Search Template when you are looking for a particular document and know its number or citation.
Help – Provides steps and useful information on how to use this product.
Log Off – Ends your research session.
Search – Use Search to retrieve records/documents in the database after you type your search. 
Search Options – Search Options allows you to customize the elements you want to add to your search. 

Conducting a Search
To conduct a search, click on a tab (i.e. news, federal, state), then click on the box next to the publication(s) you want to search (i.e. Federal Excise Tax Reporter, Internal Revenue Code).

Type your search terms in the box on the button bar and click on the Search button.  A list of documents will appear on your screen.  To view a document from the list, simply click on the title of the document.

NOTE: If you want to select a specific search option(s) just click on the Search Options button, select your new options, and then click on the Search button to execute your search.

Basic search terms?

AND (gasoline and oil) find documents that include both terms
OR (gasoline or oil) find documents that include either or both search terms
NOT (Rico not Puerto) find documents in which the first term appears but the second term does not
W/n (gasoline w/25) placing w/n between terms will retrieve documents in which the first term appears within the specified number of words 
W/sen placing w/sen between terms will retrieve documents in which the first term appears within the same sentence of the second term
W/par placing w/par between terms will retrieve documents in which the first term appears within the same paragraph of the second term

What major fields are available for searching?
All Terms (finds documents with all search terms)
Any Terms (finds documents with at least one of the search terms)
Near (finds documents that appear within ? words of each other)
Exact Phrase (finds documents with the phrase you specify)

How do I limit by Date?
If you are interested only in retrieving documents from a certain date or range of dates, you use the date restriction to your search.  Click on the Search Options button, under the date restrictions click on the down arrow and select BEFORE, ON, or AFTER and month.  In the spaces provided, type the date and year of the document.  Click on the Search button to execute your search.  Your results will include only those documents from the date range you specified.

How do I limit by Type of Document?
In addition to limiting your search results by date, you can target specific types of documents to search.  Depending on what item you choose from the Main Menu, only those types of documents will appear on the Search Options screen.

Truncation?
Use the wildcards to save time and produce better search results.  Use * to indicate any one character can appear in any position (tax**** will retrieve tax, taxes and taxable).  Use ! at the end of a term to retrieve variations of the word.  The system automatically searches for all singular, plural and possessive forms of search terms.

Can I review my past searches?
You can store your search results by using the Favorite Search option.  Favorite searches not only saves the the actual search terms used, but it also saves the items you targeted so you will get the results you expect.

Display

How do I view my search results?
As you search, you can set aside important documents that you have found in a separate list called a Keep List.  At any time you can display your Keep List during your research session.

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
From the file menu choose print or click on the print button. Or use the print /save button on the navigation bar to select the citations for printing or saving through your browser.  To remove graphics before printing, click on "Text Only" at the top of the screen.

Can I download or save the list?
Yes.  From the file menu choose Save As and select where to save the file (if you are using a public workstation, type a:\myfile.txt (saves as a text document not as HTML).

Help

Where do I go for more help?
You can download a copy of the Quick Start Guide Training Guide available online via Portable Document Format [PDF], HTML, or Microsoft Word format from the Main Menu. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210)458-4573 or 2446.

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: Academic Universe (Lexis Nexis)
See also: Court Cases

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home