|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
CollegeSource Online
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
CollegeSource Online provides access to over 27,000 college catalogs throughout the United States in complete cover-to-cover original page format including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools provided by the Career Guidance Foundation. The entry for the University of Texas at San Antonio includes undergraduate catalogs from 1996 to 2000 and graduate catalogs from 1993 to 2004. The entries for all schools are updated constantly as new catalogs are published. This product takes the place of the microfiche collection that was available only in the John Peace Library, 1604 Campus.
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
What is the date coverage of the catalogs?
Coverage generally ranges from 1994 to the present and about 500 catalogs range as far back as 1991.
Searching
How do I search for a college or university by name?
Enter the college or university name from the main search screen.
What major fields are available for searching?
Click on "Advanced Search" from the main search screen and select one of the following types of searches:
- Alpha - Search or view an alphabetical listing of colleges and universities.
- Catalog Full Text- Search the full text of PDF catalogs.
- College Name- Search by college names.
- Country- Search non U.S. schools by country.
- Criteria- Select colleges and universities by tuition, enrollment, affiliation, major, state, degrees and other criteria.
- Geographic- Select colleges and universities based on their geographic location.
Display
How can I display information about a specific college and university?
Each college or university entry will contain at one or all of the icons listed below. Just click on one of the icon listed to find out more information about the particular school you are interested in.
PDF (Portable Document Format) format icon will display the actual college or university catalog. |
Profile icon includes a summary of data reported from the school's IPEDS survey. |
World Wide Web icon will provide links to the college or university web address. |
| Expedia Icon links to a map. |
Special features?
From the main search page you have the opportunity to view various web sites provided by CollegeSource Online. Just click on Resources. These web sites contain information about college planning, financial aid, career information, assessment testing, etc.
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
To print from CollegeSource Online click on print icon on your toolbar or choose print from the pull down menu under "file" on your browser.
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance: (210) 458-4573 1604 Campus or (210) 458-2446 Downtown Library.
What other pathfinders would give me more information like this?
See also: Research Colleges and Universities
|
Related Links
Database News
Report Access Problems
Database Tipsheets
Subject Guides
Conditions of Use
|
 |