UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American books, book chapters, journal articles and conference papers published worldwide in the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics and international experts from around the world choose and annotate over 5,500 works for inclusion in HLAS. Disciplines covered include Anthropology, Art, Economics, Electronic Resources, Geography, Government and Politics, Literature, Music, and Sociology. Compiled by the Hispanic Division of Library of Congress.

What is the history of HLAS?
The print HLAS was begun in the 1930s by noted Latin American historian Lewis Hanke, the first Chief of the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The Hispanic Division provides reference service for the U.S. Congress, U.S. Government personnel, scholars, students and the general public. For more detailed history, see the SALALM article.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z. HLAS Online is also available free at http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas

Available off-campus?
Yes, it is a free web site open to all. UTSA Library purchases the print version.

Full Text of articles available online?
No. HLAS contains annotated citations only but the introductory essays are available full text online through 2001. More recent essays are available in the print version in JPL Reference F1401 .H36 (1936 - current). Check UCAT, ejournal locator or WorldCat for local availability.

What are introductory essays and how do I find them?
Introductory topic essays provides an overview of works published and highlights important research trends for a particular field. Essays are only available online through Volume 57 (2001). However, the full text essays are only searchable online from volume 1 (1936) to volume 49 (1998). From 1999 through 2001, essays are available from the browse page. For essays since 2001 you much use the print, although the bibliographic records are online. For the more recent essays, refer to the browse by volume feature or the print.

What are the advantages of the print vs. the online version?

Advantage of Print:

  • It is possible to browse the significant publishing of a current year by discipline including an introductory essay by topic.
  • Contains the most current topic essays which are not available online.

Advantage of Online

  • The electronic version provides the ability to search across all disciplines and time periods.
  • Future entries that will appear in later print versions are available, although without annotations.
  • Includes some unannotated items that were not included in earlier print version.

Languages?
Items included may be published in any language but are primarily in English, Spanish or Portuguese. Annotations may be in English, Spanish or Portuguese. Searching interface is available in either English, Spanish or Portuguese.

What is the date coverage of citations?
Items cited in the database are from 1936 on. Database is updated weekly.

List of publications included in this database?
Yes, check online under HLAS Journal Abbreviations. The journal list also available in print version.

Searching

Basic search?
The HLAS does not allow for standard Boolean searching (and, or, not).

  • Type your search terms into the "Basic Search" field and designate whether your search is for Keyword, Author, Title, or Subject. (To find terms in multiple fields, use the “Expert Search” page.)
  • Using the pull down menu, indicate whether you want your terms to be searched exactly as you entered them or if you want the database to check for variations and plurals.
  • If you have a specific volume of the HLAS (not the year of the item) that you would like to search, select it in the drop down boxes. By default it will search all years.
  • The HLAS database ranks search results by order of assumed importance: exact phrase, all of the words, one or more of the words.

What major fields are available for searching?
"Keyword" (words anywhere)
"Title" (words in item titles)
"Author." (words in author's name)
"Subject" (words in subject)
For multiple fields, choose Expert Search.

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
Yes. HLAS Resources > HLAS Subject Term Glossary

Note: Be aware that the Subject Terms are not available for all years or have changed significantly over the years. There are no subject terms on 25% of records. Volumes 1 through 15 originally had no subjects although rudimentary subject terms were later added. I recommend using keywords. Remember, records may be in any language so it might be productive to use search terms in English and Spanish.

 

How do I limit by Date?
If you have specific a specific volume/year of the HLAS that you would like to search, select it in the drop down boxes. By default it will search all years. Note that you are limiting by the volume the entry appeared in, not the actual year of publication of the item!

Can I browse issues?
Volumes since 1990 can also be browsed using the Table of Contents page which links out to the individual item records. Introductory essays are only available online through 1991. (See the print version for later essays.) To access, go to HLAS Resources > TOCs.

Truncation?
No. However, you can choose "Include Word Variants" which will search plurals and other word variants.

Can I review my past searches?
No, I history of searches is not available online.

Display

How are results displayed?
Search results are displayed in order of assumed importance of the terms you enter: exact phrase, all of the words, one or more of the words.

Printing, E-mailing

How do I print?
Use browser print function.

Can I e-mail citations to myself?
Email feature is not available in this database.

Help

Where do I go for more help?
Click on "help" at the top of the database search page for more detailed instructions. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210)458-4573 or 458-7515 (Downtown)..

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: Hispanic American Periodicals Index, ClasePeriodico,
Also check UTSA Library Subject Guides.

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home