|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
Literature Resource Center (LRC) via GaleNet
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
LRC provides full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, contextual information,reviews, and critical analyses of a wide variety of authors and literary works with in-depth coverage of the 2,500 most-studied authors.
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
Full Text of articles available online?
Almost all content is available in full-text / page-image. If record is citation only, check UCAT to see if UTSA owns the journal or book.
Language of articles?
English.
What is the date coverage of citations?
Full-text coverage of journals varies by title, but full-text content for many of the journals starts in the early- to mid-1990s. LRC is updated quarterly for high-profile authors. Full-text literary journals are updated weekly.
List of publications included in this database?
Includes full-text from Gale reference sources, The Scribner Writer Series, The Twayne Authors Series (U.S., English, & World), full-text access to a variety of literary journals, and links to selected Internet resources.
| Gale Reference Titles (*Titles marked by an asterisk include selected articles only) |
- Contemporary Authors
- Contemporary Authors New Revision Series
- Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Children's Literature Review*
- Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism*
- Drama Criticism*
- Drama for Students*
- Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800*
- Literature of Developing Nations for Students*
|
- Literature and Its Times*
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism*
- Novels for Students*
- Poetry Criticism*
- Poetry for Students*
- Shakespearean Criticism*
- Short Stories for Students*
- Short Story Criticism*
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism*
|
| Scribner Writer Series |
- African American Writers, 1st ed.
- African Writers, 2-vol set
- American Nature Writers, 2-vol set
- American Writers: Retrospective Supplement I
- American Writers: Selected Authors, 3-vol set
- Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome, 2-vol set
- British Writers: Selected Authors, 3-vol set
|
- European Writers: Selected Authors, 3-vol set
- Latin American Writers: 3-vol set
- Modern American Women Writers
- Poets: American and British, 3-vol set
- Science Fiction Writers, 1st ed.
- Supernatural Fiction Writers, 2-vol set
- Writers for Children
|
| Other Content |
- The Twayne Authors Series (articles for over 600 authors from Twayne's US Authors, English Authors, and World Authors series)
- Access to full text articles and abstracts published in more than 140 academic literary journals
- 4560 Work Overviews, consisting of plot summaries and explications of the prominent works of the Most Studied Authors
- 5000 Web sites, guiding the user to useful Internet resources on the Most Studied Authors and their works
- 2300 Author Portraits
- Access to more than 6200 timeline events designed as an interdisciplinary tool to provide social and historical context for the study of literature.
- Guide to Conducting Literary Research, instructing the user how to create an MLA-style literary research paper
- Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature (EOL). Comprises over 10,000 descriptive entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements, and prizes.
|
Searching
Basic search operators?
AND - all terms must be present
OR - any of the terms must be present
NOT - term must not be present
Parentheses ( ) allow you to combine search terms
Example: sonnets AND (shakespeare OR petrarch)
Quotation Marks “ ” allow you to search for phrases that may include stop words such as to, and, or, not, a, an, the, etc.
W - terms must appear in the specific order within the number of words indicated. Example: Peking w2 opera. Opera must appear within two words after Peking
N - terms must appear within the number of words indicated. Example: electronic n2 book. Electronic must appear within two words of book, but the two terms can appear in either direction
How do I search for a name?
To search for articles about an author or the author's works, use Author Search or enter the name in the author field of Custom Search. A display of possible name matches will appear. Click on the appropriate link. To search for a name that may appear within an article, enter the name in the full text box in Custom Search.
| What are the major search modes? (links are to search descriptions in LRC's Help section) |
|
|
|
| The Advanced Search allows you to construct more powerful field searches simultaneously and use Boolean operators to search specific fields or the full-text of the articles. You can also limit by document type and / or database. |
Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
No.
How do I make a phrase?
Use double quotes to find your search term as an exact phrase. Example: "Algonquin Round Table"
How do I limit by Date?
Use Authors by Type or Literary-Historical Timeline searches. A date range can be used to search for multiple years in the birth / death year fields. Examples: 1940 - 1949 (to search for any year in the 1940s); 1927 - 1932 (to search for any year from 1927 through 1932).
Truncation and wildcards?
Use * to replace any number of characters at the end of a word stem. Example: poet* = poet, poets, poetry, poetic,
... Use ? to replace exactly one character anywhere in a word. Example: wom?n = woman, women, womyn
Use ! to replace one or no characters in a word. Example: colo!r = color or colour
Can I review my past searches?
No, but you can mark selected results to create a customized list. See Special Features in the next section.
Display
How do I display and sort the articles?
Search results are sorted by article type. Click on a tab to view a list of articles in that category (Biographies / Literary Criticism, Articles, & Work Overviews / Bibliographies / Additional Resources / Literary-Historical Timelines). The list within each section is sorted first by the name of the article's author, then by reverse chronological order.
Special Features?
You may save up to 50 documents in a Mark List for reading in more detail later. Simply check the box next to the title in the Results List and click on the button "Update Mark List." The documents you checked will be put in a Mark List and a new button will appear on the left side of the screen labeled "View Mark List." Within an article, check the box on the upper left of the screen labeled "Mark this document" and the article will be added to the Mark List automatically.
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
While viewing the document you wish to print, click on the Print button in the upper-left corner of the screen. When the printer-friendly version of the article appears, use your browser's print command. Use your browser's Back button to return to LRC.
Can I download or save an article?
Yes. While viewing the document you wish to save, click on the Print button in the upper-left corner of the screen. Under File from the pull down menu at the top of your browser; choose "save as"; enter a path and filename (example: a:\filename.txt); choose "save file type as" and select "Plain Text"; click on OK. Use your browser's Back button to return to LRC. Also, make sure you give each file a unique name if you are saving more than one.
Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes. While viewing the document you wish to e-mail, click the E-mail button in the upper-left corner of the screen. Enter your email address and click the Send button. If desired, you can change the subject heading and choose HTML or plain text format.
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click on the Help or Search Tips entries in the text menu at the bottom of any LRC screen. Also included in LRC is a Guide to Conducting Literary Research and a section on citing documents in LRC. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210) 458-4573 or 2440.
What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: MLA International Bibliography, ProQuest Research Library
See also: Literature & Literary Criticism and Biographical Resources
|
Related Links
Database News
Report Access Problems
Database Tipsheets
Subject Guides
Conditions of Use
|
 |