UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

Mergent Online

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
Provides extensive business and financial data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, and Nasdaq companies as well as 11,000 international companies in more than 100 countries. Also provides direct access to EDGAR, the SEC website, which includes all annual, quarterly, and special corporation records. Also included is full text/full image access to current and historical annual reports for select U.S. and international companies.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

Full Text of articles available online?
Yes. Fifteen years of financial reports and over 115,000 annual reports are available.

Language of articles?
English

What is the date coverage of citations?
Coverage varies. International Company data begins in 1981; U.S. company data begins in 1993.

List of publications included in this database?
No complete listing, but from the home screen you can click on "About Mergent Online" to get more information about materials.

Searching

Basic search terms?
Only Ticker Symbols or Company Names are allowed in the basic search. Operators in the advanced screen vary by type of search you are performing although the following can be used:
and (all terms must be present)
or (at least one of the terms must be present)
For more information click on the "help" button at the top of the page.

How do I search for a name?
To search for company names you can use either the basic or advanced search screens. To search for executive names you need to perform an advanced search and use the pull down menu under 1. Select a Category/Sub-Category.

What major fields are available for searching?
Field searching can only be done from the Advanced Search screen. Executives, Financials, General Company Information, Industry Codes, and Ratios are some of the possible fields.

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
No.

How do I limit by Date?
In the Advanced Search Screen box 3a allows you to search by fiscal year end in some situations.

Truncation?
No.

Can I further limit my search?
Yes. The Adavanced Search Screen offers many limiting features. Click on the "helop" button near the top of the search screen for more information.

Can I review my past searches?
Yes. On the Advanced Search Screen recent searches appear in a box on the left hand side.

Display

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
Use the computers file menu and select "print" or use the printer icon on the toolbar.

Can I download or save marked lists?
There is no ability to create a marked list, however you can mark items and place them into a "Company Analysis List". This list can be used to create comparison and company reports.

Can I e-mail an article to myself?
No.

Help

Where do I go for more help?
Click on the "Help" button near the top of the screen. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210)458-4573.

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: Business & Company Resource Center, Business & Industry, Business Source Complete.

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home

The site you are viewing is Replica. If you have any questions please ask Cynthia Rosas. Thank you.