|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
Project MUSE
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
Project MUSE contains 100+ full text journals in the humanities, arts, social sciences, and mathematics from several important academic publishers. Unlike many full-text databases Project Muse includes journal prefatory matter--such as editorial information, submission guidelines, advertisements, and letters. Its strength is in the completeness of the material provided and the quality of the journals.
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
Full Text of articles available online?
Yes. Full text or full image is available for all materials listed.
Language of articles?
Mostly English with a few articles in other modern languages, particularly in journals covering foreign language literatures. Search may not easily be limited to a specific language.
What are the dates of coverage?
Most of the journals published by Johns Hopkins Press go back to 1995 and continue to the present. A few go back as far as 1993. Others begin coverage in 1998-99. You can check available holdings for any journal listed by selecting that journal to search and opening the pull-down menus for it to see the range of dates included.
List of publications included in this database?
Yes. Click on the following link for a complete list of journals available through Project MUSE, go to a specific title, part of the alphabet, or broad subject area, or browse all the available titles.
Searching
Basic search terms?
and (all terms must be present)
AND is the Default Operator |
or (at least one of the terms must be present)
not (term is not present) |
Is the database case sensitive? Does it recognize punctuation?
It does not matter whether you enter your search in upper or lower case letters or a mixture of the two. However, the database does recognize punctuation. Example: mexico's will retrieve mexico's or Mexico's but not Mexicos.
How do I search for a name?
For names as subjects type 'lastname, firstname'. enclosing the terms within single quotes.
Examples: 'milton, john' = John Milton as a phrase
flannery ADJ o'connor = Flannery O'Connor as a phrase in articles
twain:LCSH AND mark:LCSH = Twain and Mark both in LC Subject Heading
To search for a specific author of articles a command level search must be constructed using lastname:author AND firstname:author as the formula.
Example: fish:author AND stanley:author = search for articles by Stanley Fish.
What major fields are available for searching?
"All Fields With Text"(Default search is for words found anywhere in the article, abstract, or headings.)
"All Fields Except Text"(all fields except the article text)
"Article Author"
"Article Title" (words found in article title)
"LC Subject" (Library of Congress subject headings)
"Journal"
"Author Reviewed" (authors of reviewed books)
"Title Reviewed" (titles of reviewed books)
Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
Yes, but it is only partly available for the searcher's direct use. To have the search engine check for a term in the Thesaurus and convert your search to the controlled vocabulary use the @ following the term.
Examples: gothic@
postcolonial@ AND pedagogy@
How do I make a phrase?
Put the phrase in quotes.
Example: "Paradise Lost"
How do I limit by Date?
Use the Advanced Search to set a date limit by typing in a range of years.
Truncation?
Use * to retrieve alternate endings.
Examples:
micro* = microscope or microcomputer or any other word beginning with "micro"
Can I further limit my search?
Yes. From the results page, enter additional terms to narrow your results.
Can I review my past searches?
Yes. The results page lists all previous searches under "You searched for:"
Display
How do I display and sort the citations?
Use the pull down menus to sork results by "Rank" (relevance), "Date" or "Journal." Click on "View this Document" to see the article.
Special Features?
On the results page, click "Show Occurrences in Context" to see where search terms were found.
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
Click your browser's print icon.
Can I download or save an article?
From the file menu choose save as...select where to save the file (if you are using a public workstation, type a:\myfile.txt (save as a text document not as HTML).
Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Not directly; only by using "Cut and Paste" to copy the text into an email message.
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click on "Help" for general search information or click the question mark icon for explanations of particular sections.
What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: GaleNet: Literature Resource Center
See also: Literature and Literary Criticism.
|