UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

Gale's Ready Reference Shelf via GaleNet

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
Gale's Ready Reference Shelf integrates 14 Gale reference directories for organizations, publications and databases. It provides directory listings for local, state, regional, national, and international associations, research centers, religious organizations, publishers, publications (including newsletters and newspapers), databases, and broadcast media.

What directories are included in this database?
All major Gale directories:  Encyclopedia of Associations: National Associations; International Associations; Regional, State, and Local Associations; Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations; Publishers Directory; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Directories in Print; Newsletters in Print; Gale Directory of Databases; Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers; Research Centers Directory; Government Research Centers Directory; International Research Centers Directory; Encyclopedia of American Religions.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

How current is it?
The databases are updated annually.

Searching

Basic search terms?

AND- both terms must be present.
OR -only one of the terms must be present.
NOT- term must not be present.
Parentheses( ) allow you to combine search terms. Example: produce AND (bananas OR oranges)
adjn- terms must appear in the same order in the sentence within the number of words indicated. Example: American adj2 Association. Association must appear within two words after American.
nearn - terms can appear in any order within the number of words indicated. Example: electronic near2 book.
same - terms must appear in the same field

What are the major search modes?

SIMPLE SEARCHES:
by Name (company, publication or person)
by Location (city, state, zip code, area code or country)
by Subject Descriptor
EXTENDED SEARCH (search many fields simultaneously):
   by Organizations
   by Publications
   by Databases

EXPERT SEARCH: 
Construct complex search statements 

How do I make a phrase?
Use double quotes to find your search term as an exact phrase. Example: "St. Louis"

Can I specify a particular directory to search?
You can broadly specify a particular Gale publication using the Extended Search (Organizations) and checking off a record type, (e.g., "religious organization," "Reg/State/Local Association")

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
No.  During a search, if a subject term does not bring back the desired record, try a synonym or a free text search.  Consult subject terms on records retrieved for additional subject terms.

Truncation?
Use $ to replace any number of characters at the end of a word stem. Example: auto$ = auto, automobile, automobiles, automatic, ...
Use ? to replace exactly one character anywhere in a word. Example: wom?n = woman, women

Can I review my past searches?
No.

Display

How are results displayed?
Each record is marked by an icon indicating that the record is for an organization icon, publication icon, or database icon.

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
While viewing the record you wish to print, click on the browser's print icon.

Can I download (save) articles to a floppy disc?
Yes. Under File from the pull down menu at the top of your browser; choose "save as"; type in a:\mydoc.txt (make sure you give each file a unique name if you are saving more than one); choose "save file type as" and select "Plain Text"; click on OK.

Can I e-mail an article to myself?
This database has no e-mail feature.

Help

Where do I go for more help?
Click on Help on the top of any page for more detailed instructions. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact library staff for more assistance: (210)458-4573 or 2446.

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: Academic UniverseGale Business Resources
See also: UTSA Subject Guide > U.S. Company Directories

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home