|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
ScienceDirect
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
ScienceDirect provides full text/full image access to approximately 700 journals published by Elsevier Science including: Elsevier, North Holland, Pergamon, JAI Excerpta Medica, Gordon & Breach, Harwood. Indexes and abstracts articles from more that 1,100 journals in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences. Academic Press journals formally in IDEAL are now included.
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Scope?
As expected, ScienceDirect is very strong in science, but also has some strength in business, psychology, education and social science related to technology, science or business.
Language of Articles?
Almost all but not quite all are in English.
Full Text of articles available online?
Full image (indicated with a green rectangle preceding the journal title) is only included from 1995 for the 800 Elsevier journals held by the UT System including the medical schools. Other journals, including some non-Elsevier journals (CRC Press AMS, TMS), are indexed and searchable but the full images are not available. Non full image journals are indicated by a white rectangle preceding the journal name.
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
Usefulness?
1. Very good for finding full image group journals from 1995-current.
2. Full Boolean subject searching capability for all journals covered.
Searching
Searching:
1. Boolean: Full: AND, OR, NOT.
2. Truncation: * one character.
! any number of characters.
3. Proximity: Wn where n equals within n words.
Example: Aging W3 equals ‚aging within 3 words of ‛ human.
Methods of searching?
Browse:
- Click on "JOURNALS" on top menu bar
- Go to the letter of the first major word in the journal title
- Select journal title
- Choose issue (volume and issue)
- Pick out article
Keyword searching:
- Can use only two key phrases in Basic Mode while any number of terms can be used in Advanced Mode
- Click on "SEARCH" on top menu bar
- Search by picking two uncommon words in the title or the uncommon author name and uncommon title word
- Search for subject terms (more than one search term separated by "and" or "or" may be put in search box.)
Special Feature:
Can use hot links in the bibliography to get to the cited article–if the cited article is in the ScienceDirect database.
Display
What sort options are available?
Citations can be sorted either by date (most recent first) or by relevance by clicking on the appropriate tab.
How do I view the full text of an article?
If the citation has a link to "Article," the full text of the article is available. A link to "Journal Format-PDF" means the full image (with graphs, tables and photos) is available except when the UT System does not subscribe to the journal or the journal is a non-Elsevier journal.
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print my citations?
Use browser print button. Full image must use the pull down menu under file.
Can I download or save the list?
From the file menu choose save as...select where to save the file (if you are using a public workstation, type a:\myfile.txt (saves as a text document not as HTML).
Can I e-mail search results/documents to myself?
You cannot email entire document. However, you can email the citation and links. Click on the email option at the bottom of your search page and choose to either email citations for selected items or entire search.
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click on help button. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210)458-4573 or 2440.
|
Related Links
Database News
Report Access Problems
Database Tipsheets
Subject Guides
Conditions of Use
|
 |