UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

SpringerLink

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
Full image/full text access to journals published by Springer in the areas of chemistry, economics, computer science, geosciences, environmental sciences, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

Full Text of articles available online?
Yes.  Full text or full image is available for all materials listed.

Language of articles?
Mostly English with some in Italian, German and French.  Searches can be limited by language in Expert Search.

What are the dates of coverage?
Date coverage varies from 1995 onward.  Click "Complete List of Titles" and "Journals" to see date coverage for an individual title.

List of publications included in this database?
Yes.  Go to Site Map and choose "Complete List of Titles" for alphabetical list of titles included.  Or choose "Online Libraries" then choose subject area (e.g., "Mathematics") to see list of titles included in that subject area.

Searching

Types of searches available?

Link Easy Search - Searches in abstract and bibliographic data.
Link Bibliographic Search - Guided search.  Choose where to search from pull down menus.  Do not use Boolean terms (and, or, not) within boxes.
Link Command-Line Search - Intended for persons familiar with constructing advanced search strings.
Link Full Text Search - Searches within full text of article.

Basic search terms?

or (at least one of the terms must be present)
and (all terms must be present)
but not  (term is not present)
A phrase is the Default Operator
Do not use Boolean terms (and, or, not) within the boxes of "Expert Search Bibliographic"

Is this database case sensitive?
Searches are not case sensitive unless the box "case-sensitive" is checked.

Does it recognize punctuation?
Do not use punctuation within search terms.  Special terms, such as letters with German umlauts or accented letters should be replaced with a wildcard symbol (?).  Example: for García use Garc?a.

How do I search within a specific journal title?
Choose search type "Expert Search Bibliographic."  Type the name of the journal in one of the search boxes and choose "Publication Title" from the pull down menu next to the box.

How do I search for a name?
Author's names in Springer are formatted differently from journal to journal.  If you wish to search for articles by a particular author, it is best to enter just the surname (with wild cards in place of any accented letter).

What major fields are available for searching?  Choose "Expert Search Bibliographic" to search within:

Abstract
Affiliation (of author)
Author
Keyword
Publication Name
Title (of the article)
All Categories

How do I search with the text of the entire article?
To search within full text, choose "Expert Search Full Text" or "Command Line Search."

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
No.

How do I make a phrase?
Use either single or double quote marks.  Phrase is the default search.

How do I limit by Date?
Use the pull down menu under the search boxes to specific specific range of search dates.

Truncation?
* substitutes for any number of characters
? substitutes for exactly one character

Can I review my past searches?
No, search history is not available.

Display

How do I display and sort the citations?
Citations will be displayed automatically.  Click on "get the abstract" to see a summary of a particular article, of "fulltext" to retrieve the full text of the article.

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
After displaying the article, click your browser's print icon.

Can I download or save the list?
From the file menu choose save as...select where to save the file.  If you are using a public workstation, type a:\myfile.txt  (save as a text document not as HTML).  Make sure you give each file saved a unique name.

Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Email feature is not available with Springer databases.

Help

Where do I go for more help?
Check the online helpsheet and the context sensitive help on each search page.

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: Wiley InterScience; ScienceDirect; Kluwer Online; Nature Research.

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home

The site you are viewing is Replica. If you have any questions please ask Cynthia Rosas. Thank you.