UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

Web of Science: Cited Reference Search

The ISI® Web of Science is the Web interface for electronic access to the Citation Indexes of The Institute for Scientific Information.   The Web of Science indexes and abstracts articles in more than 8,700 national and international journals from 1975 to the present in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.  (For ISI's Journal Selection and evaluation process see: http://www.isinet.com/essays/selectionofmaterialforcoverage/199701.html. Print equivalents published by The Institute for Scientific Information are Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

The following steps will permit you to find articles that cite older articles in their bibliographies or footnotes using the web version of the citation indexes, Web of Science.  More general topic searches can be done using the Full Search: General Search and Easy Search.

To find articles that cite your original article:

  • Go to the Resources web page of the UTSA Library   (http://www.lib.utsa.edu/)
  • Choose "Web of Science" from the A to Z list or under "Social Sciences"
  • Check one or more Citation Indexes to search.
  • Select a specific year or a range of years to search using the pull down menus.
  • Click "Cited Reference Search" button
  • Fill in the boxes with information on the original (parent) article.  (Note: Not all fields need to be completed.)
  • Enter last name of the author of the original article and first initial and truncation symbol.

    example: "smith g*" or "smith*"

  • Enter the journal abbreviation for the cited journal.  Or choose a title from the "journal abbreviations." It is recommended that you use the truncation symbols to pick up variations of journal title abbreviations.

    example "acad* med*" for the journal "Academic Medicine"

  • Enter the publication date of the original article.
  • Click "search" button to retrieve articles that fit your search criteria.

Then either:

  • Click link to view record for abstract of the original article you want to find who cited
  • Click Times Cited link to see references to all who cited this article.
  • This gives you a list of all articles that cited your original article.
  • Click on article title to see a complete reference to the citing article
  • or place check mark next to relevant article(s) and click "finish search" to find articles that cited the article(s) you selected.

Or: Click on View Record next to the title of your original article to see a complete reference to your original article. The article displayed will have links to the bibliography of the current article under Cited References; articles that cited your original article appear under Times Cited link. Articles that share common references with the original article are under Find Related Records.

Summary of Links:
Cited References Lists the references (bibliography and footnotes) of the article displayed.
Related Records Lists similar articles that share common references with the article displayed.
Times Cited Lists articles that cite the article displayed in their bibliographies and footnotes.

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home