UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources

Off-Campus Access Requirements

  1. Have status as a currently enrolled/employed student, faculty, staff member, or as a current library-authorized affiliate of the university.

    Due to licensing restrictions required by publishers who produce electronic resources, off-campus access to the databases is limited to authorized users. Only currently enrolled students and/or currently employed staff or faculty of UTSA can access licensed databases from off-campus. Alumni are not eligible for this privilege.

  2. Possess an active UTSACard/ID and be activated in the Library patron database.

    24 hours after receipt and activation of your UTSACard or ID, you will be activated in the Library's patron database. To verify whether you are in our patron database, please call the Reference Desk at (210) 458-4573 or (210) 458-2446 (DT) during Reference hours.

  3. Enable cookies and Javascript in your browser and disable any pop-up blocker software.

    Many of the databases and e-journals require that you have cookies and Javascript turned on in your browser. Some use pop-up windows to display information. These settings are located under Edit-> Preferences in Netscape, Tools-> Internet Options in Internet Explorer, and Tools-> Options in Firefox.

Accessing databases

Once you meet all of the requirements, simply click on the database you wish to access. You should see a screen (see below) asking for your last name and your UTSA ID. Make sure to replace the first zero of your UTSA ID with an ‛@‛ character (e.g., 012345678 will be entered as @12345678).

login screen for off campus users

If your last name is hyphenated, enter both names and replace the hyphen with a space. For example, enter Mijon-James as Mijon James.

If you are having problems accessing from off-campus, use our Report Access Problems form to contact a staff member for assistance.

The UTSA Library has Conditions of Use for Library Electronic Resources to ensure the legal and ethical use of these resources.

Note: Residents of on campus housing, such as Chisholm Hall, Chaparral Village, and University Oaks are required to authenticate due to licensing restrictions required by publishers who produce electronic resources.

Related Links

Report Access Problems

Need help with netLibrary?

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home